Entries 2020

Entries for The Schools’ Head 2020 are now open. Entries close at 8am on 02 March.

Entries for the Schools’ Head of the River 2020 are invited in the following categories:


Championship Eights Girls Championship Eights
School First Eights Girls School First Eights
School/Junior Second Eights Girls School/Junior Second Eights
School/Junior Third Eights Girls School/Junior Third Eights
J16 Championship Eights Girls J16 Championship Eights
J16 School First Eights Girls J16 School First Eights
J16 Second Eights Girls J16 Second Eights
J15 Championship Eights Girls J15 Championship Eights
J15 School First Eights Girls J15 School First Eights
J15 Second Eights Girls J15 School Second Eights

Fours / Quads

School/Junior Coxed Four Girls School/Junior Coxed Four
J16 Coxed Four Girls J16 Coxed Four
School/Junior Coxless Quad Girls School/Junior Coxless Quad
J16 Coxless Quads Girls J16 Coxless Quads
School/Junior Mixed Quads  

The event is run under British Rowing Rules with the following special conditions:

  1. All Participants in the race must be in full-time education in schools or sixth-form colleges and must be 18 or younger on the day of the race.
  2. School First/J16/J15 Eights events are only open to single School crews.
  3. No composite entries are allowed or ‘flags of convenience’ crews.
  4. A significant aim of the Schools Head [taking place on a School day] is to promote rowing in schools and school Boat Clubs. Where possible, Schools should have first call on rowers who also row with clubs.
  5. All competitors must have attained their 13th birthday.
  6. A club may only enter a 2nd or 3rd crew if a genuine first crew has been entered.

It is a condition of entry that all those taking part are competent swimmers. The committee take every precaution to ensure the safety of competitors but is not to be held responsible for accidents.


The fastest Eight will receive the Head Trophy and a pennant. All other winning crews receive pennants. Individual medals will be awarded to all members of winning crews in events with more than three entries. The second and third crews in Championship events will be awarded silver and bronze medals. The Thames Team Trophy will be awarded to the school with the fastest aggregate time of any three eights.


Entries are via British Rowing Online Entry.

Entry fees: Eights £120 Fours/Quads £80

Cheques should be payable to The Schools’ Head Race.

All enquiries should be directed to:

CD Riches
Schools’ Head Race
Westminster School
Little Dean’s Yard
London SW1P 3PF

Telephone entries are not possible

If you have an urgent query, please email david.riches@westminster.org.uk.


The Committee emphasise that rowing on the Tideway is very different from rowing on still or non-tidal waters. Good coxing and watermanship are essential if the race is to be an event which is safe and enjoyable for all participants. We therefore urge coaches to use their discretion in making their entries and consider whether weaker crews should be entered. We also remind them that it is permissible to use coxes who are older than the age group they are coxing.

All coxes should have watched the Tideway coxing video and the PLA code. All competitors should also be familiar with The Tideway Code.

As before, we would like to remind coaches that the 3rd Eights event is for genuine 3rd Eights, and not an alternative J16 event